Skip to content

The Liberal Party will ban divorce!

October 9, 2008

Surely that’s what Malcolm Turnbull meant when he told Kerry O’Brien that it was Liberal Party policy that “marriage is a permanent union between a man and a woman”.

7.30 Report

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 5:17 pm

    Except that in context he states that it’s Labor’s policy too! It’s still a bit of a slip regardless of whose policy it is (unless it’s Family First’s, I guess). I have to admit, though, that I have a soft spot for Malcolm Turnbull — he seems a very liberal kind of Liberal leader. And, unlike his Labor counterpart, I’ve never had to pretend he has a foreign policy worth mentioning ONCE. (Grr, IS.)

  2. injera permalink*
    October 9, 2008 5:34 pm

    Yes, I did selectively clip that quote – only because I scoured the ALP website and there were some references to marriage being between men and women, but nothing about the “permanent” union as policy. I didn’t think it right to accept big Mal’s framing of ALP policy as gospel!

    Turnbull does seem like a liberal… compared to the others. It will be interesting to see if the party room lets him stay that way.

    Sounds as though you’ll be pleased when IS is done!

  3. October 9, 2008 8:00 pm

    To be fair, I don’t think there’s anything about “permanent” unions in Liberal policy either. He might be the leader, but Turnbull still doesn’t get the privilege of inventing policies on the spur of the moment in sentences he goofed anyway!

    Yes, I will be very pleased when IS is done. Today’s SAC was so awful I think it’s traumatised me. (Three essays, twelve questions, eighty minutes.)

  4. October 10, 2008 9:32 pm

    If Malcolm gets voted in we will get a two for one PM – him and his ego.

  5. injera permalink*
    October 11, 2008 8:19 am

    I really shouldn’t make predictions – they never work – but I’m guessing he’s another Andrew Peacock. Maybe in the years to come, he’ll be schmoozing in D.C., thinking about what might have been.

Leave a Reply

