Skip to content

Last of the long lunches*

July 10, 2009

Libertine

A holiday is not really a holiday unless there’s a lunch at Libertine.  For a while, I thought this tradition was going to go unmarked during this break, but I managed to sneak one in.

The lunch menu changes weekly, but there’s always some manner of steak frites on offer and I can never go beyond that for the main.  It was being offered with bearnaise, which seemed perfect for the bright but chilly weather.  There was sparkling to start, a glass of red to continue, some fromage de meaux to finish and a generally satisfying afternoon.

Gingerboy

A last-minute call from my Cutler & Co lunch companion had me headed out the door and towards Crossley Street before the phone had time to click back into the receiver.

The son-in-law eggs have been recommended by many Gingerboy afficionados, so they were a given.  We also ordered some of the pork dumplings to start and the waitress, noting that both came in portions of three, sensibly offered to alter to two and four.  Perfect. The eggs came with a gorgeously rich chilli jam and instructions that they should be eaten “in one bite”.  Usually the LC and I are chopsticks at dawn with any kind of shared starters, but this instruction had both of us hanging back to observe the other’s technique.  Finally I decided to Cool Hand Luke it.  Well, I did chew, hiding my bulging cheeks behind my hand, but I do wish there was some way of savouring the egg as it really was beautiful but gone too soon.

We couldn’t go past braised ox cheeks, and the LC has something of an obsession with duck curry, so our shared larger dishes tended to the rich side.  Rich, and delicious.

Can’t wait to go back to Gingerboy!  As for Libertine, I’ve already booked another lunch (so glad they’re now open on Saturdays).

= = = = = =

*Until the next one, that is…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ceridwen permalink
    July 14, 2009 3:37 pm

    So glad you managed to fit in a Libertine lunch. After a dramatic holiday to say the least, a generous serve of frites is just what you deserve. Lovely!

  2. July 25, 2009 10:57 am

    Injera, I went to Gingerboy at your recommendation on a recent trip to Melbourne. You had recommended it to Reality Raver.

    I got there for a late lunch and propped myself up at the bar as the restaurant was full and had the eggs and a prawn starter. Glass of chenin blanc, then a glass of pinot gris. YUM!

    • injera permalink*
      July 25, 2009 11:46 am

      Glad you enjoyed it, Onadrought! With the egg option – did you follow instructions and shove the whole egg in at once? I an still regretting doing that, but perhaps the experience is meant to be teasingly fleeting…

      • July 25, 2009 6:48 pm

        They told me to shove the whole thing in my mouth, but I couldn’t. So I just ate about half at a time and enjoyed it thoroughly. Have told Reality Raver to check Gingerboy out.

      • injera permalink*
        July 25, 2009 7:37 pm

        I’ll definitely ignore the waiter next time and follow your lead. Much more sensible! And you’d be able to really savour those flavours…

Leave a Reply

